The Start of a Revolution?


You know what the problem is with moderates? We tend to be quiet. Those at the opposite ends of an argument tend to be very passionate and vocal. Moderates? Not so much. We see both sides of the story and so we don’t tend to get so heated. We just wait things out and dismiss the radicals as radicals. You know what the problem is with that? The radicals get all of the airtime and start to sound not quite so radical.

So here I am, The Passionate Moderate. I am here to talk about being in the middle of polarizing subjects. I am here to be the voice of understanding and tolerance. I am here to give a voice to cooler heads.

So who am I?

A non-conservative living in one of the most conservative political counties in Texas.

A former Catholic, Unitarian Universalist in the bible belt.

A RN/midwifery student who absolutely appreciates obstetrical care while practicing in an out-of-hospital setting.

A vegetarian who cooks meat for her family every night……amongst other things.

So, have you characterized me as a flip-flopping, wussy, fence-sitter yet? Well, I am here to tell you that is not the case. I believe with all my heart and soul about the choices I’ve made for myself, and amazing as it may seem, I believe you have the right to make choices for yourself without my help. What frustrates me to no end are the people out there who want to make my decisions for me or tell me what kind of person I am based on the decisions I’ve already made.

Over the next few posts, I’ll tackle a number of divisive subjects, and I welcome all respectful comments and debate. No name calling or insults on either side will have a place on my blog. I’m here to encourage a civility that seems to be lacking in the current culture. Who’s with me?

3 thoughts on “The Start of a Revolution?

  1. Karen Newberg says:

    Great job Kristen can’t wait to follow you, I feel feel the same way!

  2. Sara says:

    Love your blog!!!You are SO right! There are MANY moderates out there…we’re just hard to hear amongst all the yelling from the extremes. Look forward to reading future posts…Thanks!

  3. melissa says:

    Flaming progressive here! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts (from one UU to another).

Leave a Reply

