Time Magazine Overload


Are we all sick of this story yet? Are we done ranting about one side or the other? I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted.

I’ve spent more time thinking about everything I’ve seen and read over the last week, than I will admit publicly, (I would diagnose myself as OCD, but looking around my less than sparkling clean house I know that’s not the case.) and there are two things that I keep coming back to.

  1. The comments of people who disagree with me.
  2. Why we’re collectively spending so much time arguing about whether or not a particular person is too affectionate/nurturing/attached to her kids when there are so many horrific cases of actual child abuse in the news, not to mention every other thing that’s wrong with the world we’re living in.

I’m not averse to people disagreeing with me, generally speaking. (My kids would scoff at that statement I’m sure….and perhaps my husband too) I didn’t have a problem with any thoughtful comment from people who had obviously taken the time to get the facts but had a differing opinion from my own. What I didn’t understand, and am not sure I will ever understand, is disagreeing without hearing the other side of the argument. Basically just putting your foot down and saying, “I think that’s wrong, so its wrong.” Or sticking your fingers in your ears and saying “La, la, la, I can’t hear you.”  I guess there’s no arguing with that sentiment, but I still want to.

What I spent most of my time thinking about however, was deeper. I found myself wondering about the topics I blog about and whether I feel like I’m part of the problem or part of the solution. I started blogging to add a voice I wasn’t hearing in my day to day life and with the best of intentions…….but you know what they say about good intentions….

The road to Hell

So I had to take an honest look at myself and say, am I just like everyone else out there with a keyboard and an opinion? Am I jumping on the pop news bandwagon? Why do we get fired up about a person we’ll never meet, or a celebrity, or a sports figure? Why do these seemingly trivial things end up on the front page and then taking the internet by storm? Surely there are more important things to discuss and pour our energies into.

As luck would have it, in the midst of pondering all of this, a new post from a fellow blogger appeared in my in box giving me the answer I was looking for, at least to the question of why we pay attention to seemingly small stories while essentially ignoring the bigger picture.

It was called “Everything’s a Circle” by True Stories: http://jessicavealitzek.com/

In it the author talks about the phenomenon of “psychic numbing” and how in today’s climate of 24 hour news coverage our minds get so overloaded with information, we can’t process all of the difficult subjects we’re faced with, and the greater the problem, the more likely we are to tune out. Seems about right to me; not right in the sense of okay, but right in the sense that that kind of behavior is just plain human nature. Unless we’re confronted with an “in your face” crisis, there are just too many worthy causes clamoring for our attention and we don’t know where to focus, which means, I guess, that we will focus on the easiest target.

Alternative parenting techniques, gay marriage, politicians’ thoughts on gay marriage, Kardashians, flesh eating bacteria, Jessica Simpson‘s pregnancy weight gain,  the war on women, Fifty Shades of Grey….and on and on it goes.

And, yes, I guess I have to admit that I do get caught up in the emotion of the sensational news stories of the day, but what I’ve noticed, is that my best writing and my best reader responses come when the story du jour aligns with the things I’m most passionate about, like the breastfeeding cover, the debates on birth choice and women’s healthcare. So I will keep looking for things to talk about and pick carefully those topics which mean something to me. It may mean that my blog starts going in a different direction than I originally foresaw, but I will endeavor to never have to wonder again if what I’m blogging about is worthy of putting out there.

One thought on “Time Magazine Overload

  1. Good conclusion. It’s not a bandwagon if it’s what YOU are passionate about. It took me a few years to start a blog because I didn’t want to jump on that bandwagon. (I mean, really, does the world need another blog?) Then I realized, “This is stupid. I love writing. I want to have a blog.”
    Thanks for the shout-out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

