Ah, the Life of a Graduate Student


Well, it finally happened.

Someone, actually two people,  asked me what was up with my blog. I was expecting it, of course, but I was chagrined just the same at being called out (albeit, very gently) for not writing for the past couple of weeks.

Now, as a matter of fact, I have been writing….. and reading, and note taking, and outlining, and researching, and reading some more……but not as the Passionate Moderate…..I’ve been doing those things as a first term midwifery student. And this will be one of my easiest terms according to those who have gone before me. The thought makes me a bit nauseous….or is it nauseated?

Not that I’m complaining! I’m thoroughly enjoying my new role and eager to learn as much as I can, but I must be truthful about one thing. Being a blogger who writes about current events is very difficult when you don’t know what’s going on in the world. My life right now is consumed with pathophysiology, the history of midwifery and nursing theory (yuck). No time for politics and scandal….which is fine for the moment. I’m sure as the election season revs up I’ll be sufficiently motivated to share my thoughts on the subject.

To give you an idea of how immersed I am in what I am learning, and probably an idea of what a dork I am, let me tell you this little story:

Last week I had an exam in pathophysiology, and one of the topics covered was the stress response. I spent an evening really trying to study the cascade of hormones and resultant physical changes which happen when the body is in danger, either in reality or imagined. Then I went to sleep, and I should point out that I tend to dream very vivid, wild dreams in general, but his particular night was like an action, adventure movie with many heart-stopping and tense moments, chases, gunshots, near drownings, you name it, and every time I noticed a physical reaction or sensation in myself I’d think, “That’s part of the stress response.”….over and over again. (I did quite well on the exam, by the way.)

So there you have it, I’m a little…shall we say…preoccupied with school, but I promise I haven’t forgotten about my blog or my readers.

Still to come, a “con” guest blog about Obamacare from a medical student you can find at littleredmed.wordpress.com. I have no idea who this student is, but the blog writing is phenomenal. I highly recommend you start to follow.

Also, a musing about emotional energy and what it means to our physical and mental well-being.

Beyond that who knows……

Leave a Reply

